Separation: The Enemy of Joy

A few days ago I published a blog post about the rough time we’ve been having.  I really wasn’t going to post it, I hate to sound whiny, but I felt God nudging me to share.  So I did.

I must say, the outpouring of support was wonderful.  But you know what was really surprising?  Person after person showed gratitude for my sharing.  People were hurting and feeling alone.  Like me, people felt as though they were suffering alone and in silence, no one to hear, care or listen.

When everyone else’s life looks golden, your hard times look even worse.

The enemy of our peace and joy wants us to feel alone.  He wants to cull us from the herd.  He desires to separate us from each other and make us feel separated from God’s love.  God’s Word tells us in Romans 8:38-39 (NIV):

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

If the enemy of our peace and joy can convince us that we are alone, he can steal our joy, our peace and our hope.  We need to stop allowing him to do that.  We need to open our hearts.  Not be whiny.  Just be real.  Show people our struggles.  Stop trying to portray the perfect person, to appear to be the perfect Christian.

Our friends hurt.  Our loved ones struggle.  But we all hurt more when we think we are alone and forgotten. When we are convinced the world is shining on everyone else, but our pain is ours alone to bear we feel worthless, not accepted.  Not loved.

I’m not suggesting we go airing all our dirty laundry for the world to see.  I’m suggesting we walk with an air of vulnerability, an open honesty that we have struggles but we have victory.  Be an encourager to those hurting.  Validate their pain.  And encourage them in their victory.  But mostly, let them know they are not alone.  We who are found in Christ are never alone.

One last note: In the last few months I’ve had one hope that held me together as I felt alone, lost and forgotten. It was the certain truth that Jesus has never forsaken me, nor forgotten me.  Jesus loves me enough to trade His life for my eternity.  That alone is enough.  Any and all additional blessings, and they are plentiful, are just added showers of His unending love.  I don’t know how anyone without this certainty of salvation can handle the struggles of life.  If you are struggling and don’t know Christ as your personal savior, my readers and I would love to introduce you, pray for you and with you. Accepting Christ’s offer of salvation doesn’t prevent the struggles of this world, but it does make them far more bearable as we know His love in unending.

 

Leave a Reply

