Thankful?

I’ve not been doing the usual Facebook “What I’m thankful for every day in November” posts.  I usually do.  I find it helpful to remind myself that I have much to be thankful for. I tend to be a relatively cheerful, joyfilled person.  Or I did…

If you are a good friend, or have been reading my blog for long, you will probably recall we have a rather “interesting”  life as it relates to water and other such things.  Here is the link to the post with the history of water in my world.

I thought I might update you about our water situation and the ongoing saga… And tell you why I am thankful…

We acquired enough tanks to create a buried cistern system holding 4000 gallons of water! And we have a nice friend who shares his water hauling truck and tanks allowing both families to haul 1000 gallons at a time (instead of the 400 we were hauling).  We spent last summer and fall preparing all that is necessary to bury 3 large tanks and the pipe to deliver water into our house.  Then we ran out of money.

So we waited until this summer to finish.  Finally, the first of October brought freshly buried tanks! 4000 gallons of water! Yay! We reached the first step in our water containment plans, finally!

But of course.  I mean this is my life.  Literally within the week of the newly established water system, our old, undersized pump died.  Fortunately we had been given a pump that we were holding as back up.  My sweet husband swapped pumps and away we went.

Then my microwave died.  Then my pizza stone broke.  We laughed.  How likely is that! Ha Ha.  Very funny.  Then my van died.  Like $1200 dead.  Like two weeks of parts and labor and imposing upon my dear friends, dead.  Then life went crazy with my tenants in the old house (we were selling the house on contract).

Finally the van was repaired just in time for our family mini vacation!  Trip to Great Wolf Lodge and IKEA and I was feeling like a somewhat normal person again.

Then my tire on my van got a hole in it.  Like, no patching, need new tires.  Thank God for spares!

Then my husband, whose back had been hurting a lot for over a month, finally got the point where he was unable to get out of bed, or find any comfort in bed.  Steroid shot, pain shot, heavy dose pain meds and he still couldn’t move.  Or lie still.  X-ray. Degenerative disc disease.  Epidural Cortisone injection.  Intense prayer from some amazing prayer warriors.  Five days before he was mostly pain free.  Or at least less pain and able to return to work.  MRI confirms, he is going to need back surgery.

Finally out of pain, hubby returns to work and all is going well.

Until…

Yeah… Water.

New pump broke.  10pm.  On a Wednesday night.  Nothing to do.  But again pack up and impose upon loved ones to let us stay.  Dear friends.  Oh, and amidst all of this, we had to continue to deal with tenant issues.  Finally got the house sold, fulfilling the terms of the contract, but costing us money in closing costs, etc, on top of the broken pump.

New pump purchased.  Another good friend, a plumber, helps to make sure the new pump is properly installed.  All is good.  Yay!

Or not.  Cracked fittings.  Pump won’t prime.

Did I mention my husband has to go to work… He has only a few hours a day to work on this, but thankfully his back is hurting very little.

New fittings.  Pump primed.  Yay!

No. Oh, pressure switch is bad.

I’m beginning to get a bad feeling about this.

So.  It’s been a week staying with dear friends.  Crying in their laps.  Wondering why. Why us? Why does nothing ever work?  What is God’s plan? Amidst all of this we’ve had other personal issues as well.  And we wonder why God feels so silent in this.

We’ve been blessed.  So many times.  We forget.  Our attempt to drill a well, futile though it was, was paid for by an anonymous donor.  Many friends have provided time, equipment and experience to get things going. Friends have provided us money to help. Each step of the way I have found joy in the blessings.  I have been thankful for each step.  I’ve found humor and irony to keep me going.

But I’m going to be honest.  Joy, humor and thankfulness is something I’m finding very hard to muster this time.

But.  But God. God is great. He is good.  He has a plan.  He has a purpose.  He will not be thwarted by the plans of the enemy.  Though I’m struggling to find joy, humor and thankfulness, I’ve not fully lost hope.  I feel that I’ve lost hope.  But thankfully, our hope is not based on feelings but on a mighty and powerful God who loves us.

So, I know God is in charge.  I know He has a plan.  And that’s all I’ve got.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Thankful?

  1. Gerri says:

    So, you know God is in charge. You know He has a plan. And that’s all you’ve got.

    OK, great! And because you know these things, you have so much more than other folks who don’t know these things. It may be hard to see right now, but you are wrapped in His arms, covered by His grace, so incredibly precious and so abundantly loved by Him and by so many people around you.Lean on His faithfulness and unfailing goodness until your ready to stand firm and steady on your spiritual feet again. He won’t disappoint. Hugs, my friend!!

    • Thank you for your encouraging words. I’m glad that I have that assurance. I know many others do not, and I cannot imagine trying to traverse these trials without that comfort. Even on the hard days. Especially on the hard days!

Leave a Reply

