Shepherd’s Pie!

In looking around the internet for a Shepherd’s pie recipe, I discovered there isn’t one.  There are a blue million.  And each is as different as night and day.  About the only thing I found each recipe had in common was the mashed potatoes on top.  So I decided that I would make one based on the things we enjoy in our family.

I don’t think I’ve ever made a shepherd’s pie.  Maybe once 15 years ago…. I can’t recall having actually eaten one elsewhere.  So I began an experiment expecting it to take a few tries to get “right”.  However, my husband declared this first attempt a success and I must concur.  The kids, while not actually raving about it, ate it easily and many asked for seconds (not always common at my house).

So, in order that I might recreate this recipe again in the future, I am posting it here.  I hope some of you try it and enjoy.

1 pound of hamburger (plus I added the last of the leftover meatloaf)
2 whole carrots, chopped in bite size pieces
some peas, frozen
1 can drained pinto beans
2 sweet peppers, chopped
salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder to taste
mixture of bbq sauce and ketchup to provide slightly damp medium
leftover mashed potatoes (I didn’t have enough so I made some instant to go with them, about 6 servings of instant and 3 cups leftovers)
1 TBSP butter

After browning the meat, I put it and the leftover meatloaf in a grease 9×13 dish.  I added veggies, and seasonings.  I then squirted just a small amount of ketchup and BBQ sauce to allow everything to mix well.   As the peas were frozen, I place the whole mixture in the oven to thaw and warm while preparing the potatoes.

Meat and veggie mixture

Meat and veggie mixture

Once I had warmed the potatoes and mixed the instant and leftovers together, I spooned them onto the top of the meat/veggie mix.  I then sprinkled the potatoes with Garlic powder.  I baked at 350 for about 25 minutes then I used a basting brush and spread melted butter across the potatoes and baked 2 minutes then broiled until desired (or just a tad past) brownness.

Finished Shepherd's Pie

Finished Shepherd’s Pie

Fortunately, the blacked spots were just blacked butter and didn’t taste burnt at all.  My husband and I both think the BBQ sweetness and the peppers were key to the mix of flavors we enjoyed.  So, while I’m sure I’ll include different veggies depending upon what’s available, I’m hoping to be able to include those two items for sure.

I was very pleased with this first result.  I would love to hear what types of things you usually include in your shepherd’s pie.

Leave a Reply

