Happy Mother’s Day

I’m jumping on the bandwagon with the Mother’s Day posts!  Sort of.  Mine will be a tad different.  

First, I love my mother.  She is the strongest woman I know.  I’m not going to share her life story here, but she has really overcome so many major obstacles and is a strong, smart and beautiful woman despite so many things put in her path.  I admire her.  I respect her.  I don’t tell her enough, because I’m really not that good of a daughter.  Truthfully, my mom and I are nothing alike.  But, I am honored and proud to be called her daughter.

Secondly, there is my biggest sister.  She had a huge part in raising me.  We are a little a like, though not much.  She has been a huge blessing to me.  She, too, is very strong.  She’s a lot like my mom.  They are both amazing women.  God really blessed me with the both of them.

Thirdly, there is my Mother-in-law.  She has known me since I was a rotten teenager.  She has been another great role model for me. She has taken me in as her daughter and I’m very grateful that she allowed her son to marry me and bless me with 6 (plus one on the way) babies to make me a momma.

Which brings me to the point of this post.

Mother’s Day makes me very tired.  For several years I have been responsible for planning and preparing a special Mother’s Day activity/craft so the little ones at church can give something special to their mommas.  I have to get my herd up, dressed and headed of to church for 5 hours, keeping them out of trouble whilst handling all the responsibilities I have there.  I then have to load my herd up, grab a super quick bite of lunch and head for the 1+ drive to visit my mom.  After that is the 30 min drive to visit my husband’s mom.  Followed by the hour drive home to collapse in bed.  

Because for years Mother’s Day has been about every mother but me.  And I’ve just become selfish.  I want it to be about me.  At least a little.  

So a couple years ago I stirred up the courage to call both moms and tell them that I would be visiting them on a day other than Mother’s Day and I would be going home and getting a nap on Mother’s Day.  Yes, it was a very selfish move.  But they were both amazingly understanding about it.  Because they are good mommas.  

The truth is, I need to become a better daughter the other 364 days a year and not just the one day a year the greeting card company thinks I should.  So, I am trying to be less focused on my little life and remember the women who gave birth to us and raised us.  I stumble and fail more than I’d like.  But, we move on.  All we can do is try to make sure those who God has blessed us with know how much we love them and appreciate them.

So my challenge to you is much what it has been to me.  If you are fortunate enough to still have your mother, or mother figure, in your life, reach out to her often.  Call, text, facebook or send a card (I just found one I wrote my momma years ago and never mailed.  Ooops.).  Don’t expect a plant and a couple hour visit on Mother’s Day to make up for the other 364 days a year.

Happy Mother’s Day to my dear sweet Momma, my big sister, and my Mother-in-law.  And Happy Mother’s Day to all the tired mom’s “in the trenches” trying to make sure your moms have a good Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

