What A Decade!

Yesterday we celebrated the 10th birthday of our third child.  For us, the third child brought a huge change in our world.  I had just quit my job and we decided to have another baby.  It also marks another milestone.

I began working with the Children’s Ministry Team at my church.  Thinking as a stay at home mom, I’d have a little extra time, I signed up to help.  Little did I know…

When I first started in Children’s Ministry I was a pretty new believer.  My husband and I had joined the church about two years earlier and I was just learning a lot about the heart and character of God.  But I was very shy and introverted.  Truthfully, I still am.

But God is wise, creative and has an amazing sense of humor.  In a decade He took a shy mom, who struggled to meet people and make friends and brought me to a place where I was (along with my partner) leading the Children’s Ministry.

I reflected this morning as I remembered our Easter lesson from yesterday, on just how much has changed in my life in that decade.  I’ve added 3 more children (with another on the way to make 7 total).  The first time I had to use a microphone on the church stage in front of the congregation with Children’s Ministry I thought I would pass out.  A decade later, though I still don’t love it, I choose to make announcements for our church about VBS with no fear or dread.  I used to meet with our team and feel totally out of place and dread the idea of having to pray aloud.  Now I lead prayer for 150 kids and various adults (with a microphone no less) during VBS without thinking about it.  The first time my Children’s Pastor told me that some day I would be called on to lead a child to Christ, I thought “I should get out now!” Yesterday I led the salvation message and prayer for our elementary classes and felt totally at home doing so.

God has changed me in so many ways in the past decade.  I’ve gone through the changes largely fearfully and hesitatingly.  And almost entirely kicking and screaming.  But on the other side of this decade I feel much better about who I am. Because who I am is grounded in Him and in who He is and in what He has done for and through me.  I don’t write any of this to brag about my “growth”.  Just the opposite. There are people who can attest that this growth I’ve experienced was not my idea of a good time.

I write to give hope and encouragement.  Whatever season of growth, whatever decade of  change God has you in, if you walk it in faith, obedience and prayer, (even if you whine and cry along the way) God is faithful to complete the work he has started in you. (Philippians 1:6)

What season can you reflect upon and see God’s hand guiding you?  What season are you in now and where do you see God leading you on the other side?

 

 

Leave a Reply

