Stolen Joy

I’m going to reveal a great secret. I love to sing. Loud. And, an even bigger secret, I like to dance. If you are a good friend of mine, this is likely quite the surprise. Why? Because I’m terrible.

Nearly everyone I know knows I’m nearly tone deaf and have no rythmn.  I’ve had a great terror of singing or dancing in public since I was very young.

You might wonder why I’m sharing this. Frankly so do I. But I think it is to caution us all. I don’t know where my fear of singing in public came from but I can guess.

As a young girl I remember listening to my daddy sing to me. I loved it.  And I remember him telling me one day that he’s a terrible singer, can’t carry a tune in a bucket  as the saying goes. Somehow, in my early years I got the message. Enjoying music did not equate any skill. I recall being part of the 6th choir required us to audition for 7th grade choir, even if we didn’t want to participate. I had to stand with 2 other kids and sing for the teacher. I was so embarrassed, ashamed and scared that I couldn’t even squeak out a sound.

That fear has followed me my whole life.   I’ve struggled singing  where anyone other than my children could hear me.  I can happily sing in a large group,  but if the person next to me can hear, I’m out.

I want to caution us against saying things to our children that place these self image issues inside them.  We never know what words will steal future joy from our children. Perhaps had I been less afraid in my younger years I could have learned. But I’ve hidden away and had my joy stolen from me. I’d hate to discover years from now that my words  stole joy from my children.

My prayer for you is that you would no longer allow lies to steal your joy. That you  would find your identity in the Creator who made you in His image with a plan and a purpose.

 

One thought on “Stolen Joy

  1. I don’t know why but after reading this the first thing that popped into my head was the movie ELF and this scene:
    Buddy: The best way to spread Christmas Cheer, is singing loud for all to hear.
    Jovie: Thanks, but I don’t sing.
    Buddy: Oh, well, it’s just like talking, except longer and louder, and you move your voice up and down.
    Jovie: I *can* sing, I just choose *not* to sing. Especially in front of other people.
    Buddy: If you can sing alone, you sing in front of other people. There’s no difference.
    Jovie: Actually, there’s a BIG difference.
    Buddy: No there’s not. Wait…
    [Starts singing loud and off-key]
    Buddy: I’m singing/I’m in a store/and I’m siiiiiingiiiiing!/I’m in a store/and I’m siiiiiingiiiiing!

Leave a Reply

